What is a Registered Diplomate Reporter?

A Registered Diplomate Reporter is a court reporter who has passed the National Court Reporter’s Association Registered Diplomate Reporter (RMR) examination. This is the highest general certification given by the organization and follows the Registered Merit Reporter certification. This certification carries weight in the field of court reporting. It is easy and convenient to register for the exam as long as the individual interested in taking it has fulfilled all of the eligibility requirements set forth as prerequisites by the organization.

The National Court Reporter’s Association

The National Court Reporter’s Association, or NCRA, is a national organization that supports professionals in the court reporting industry. It mainly emphasizes support for reporters that use stenographic methods (as opposed to voice writing) as a main transcription technique. This organization offers memberships in exchange for yearly dues. Members are eligible to take a number of different certification exams offered by the organization that provide credentialing for a number of facets and levels of the court reporting field. The website provides helpful information such as college listings and employment resources like classified advertising.

Registered Diplomate Reporter Exam

The exam consists of a 105 question Written Knowledge Test, or WKT. This is a multiple choice exam and deals with six different subject areas: reporting, transcript production, management, education, marketing, and professional issues. A called score of 70% or higher is necessary to pass the exam.

The Registered Diplomate Reporter examination is designed to test knowledge and experience in a variety of issues concerning court reporters and the profession as a whole. Thus it doesn’t deal so much with practical issues such as transcription performance speed , but rather with in depth testing of the reporter’s knowledge on a variety of integral topics relating to the industry.

After completing the exam, the court reporter receives a certificate that can be displayed on the wall or framed showing that they have achieved the Registered Diplomate Reporter title. There is also recognition of the reporter’s achievement in the Journal of Court Reporting, the Court Reporter Sourcebook, and on NCRA Web site.

Exam Eligibility

An individual must already have passed the Registered Merit Reporter (RMR) exam in order to be eligible to take the RDR exam. The RMR consists of a 105 question multiple choice test and a three part skills test. The skills sections test a reporter’s speed in three categories of dictation/transcription: literary content, jury charge, and testimony/question and answer The first leg delivers literary content as 200 words per minute. The second leg moves up to jury charge content given at a speed of 240 words per minute. Finally, the last leg delivers testimony and question and answer content at 260 words per minute.

In addition to completing the RMR test successfully and this receiving RMR certification, the RDR candidate must have six continuous years of NCRA membership prior to taking the exam. This membership must also have started with Participating or Registered member status.

Advantages of CDR Certification

CDR certification has definite employment based advantages because it is, as noted above, a fairly distinguished degree. It is the highest general certification level given by the NCRA, and thus shows that a court reporter is at the top of their field. The NCRA is a respected and nationally known professional organization, so credentialing received from it is usually taken seriously in the industry. There are a number of other certifications given by the NCRA, but they deal mostly with more specific skill sets or specialties. The CDR designation attests to an overall in depth knowledge of court reporting.

Continuing Education

As is the case with the other certifications, the RDR must be maintained by completing a specified number of continuing education credits, called CEUs in NCRA terminology. These credits may be gained by attending NCRA classes and seminars or possibly fulfilling other requirements. The credits are renewed by accumulating 3.0 CEUs over a three year period. This serves to renew all three certifications: the RPR,RMR, and RDR.

The NCRA Website

Reporters wishing to sit for the RDR exam can register on the website. In addition to this, the NCRA website contains a wealth of information for both court reporting students and professionals already working in the field of. It offers college listings, classified ads for those seeking jobs or advertising their services, articles and news, listing of professional court reporting organizations on the state level, and many other useful features. Court reporters or students can access the website and use it as a kind of home base for their professional pursuits. It serves as an information resource and contact point that can help those starting out and long time court reporting professionals alike.

RDR certification is a good way to certify advancement and excellence in the court reporting field. Take a look at the NCRA website for further information on it at:http://ncraonline.org/